Life is Messy, But Sooooooooo Worth It!

Image

When my husband and I moved to Boston, we knew we would only stay for a few years. 2, maybe 3. We are not “city folk”, and while we were willing to go for a few years for some great job opportunities and cultural experiences (Bean Town Rocks, y’all), we didn’t want to stay long term. So, you may ask why we decided to start trying for baby while we lived there, huh?

Image

Who knows?

It just felt like the right time, and we had only been there a year. Little did we know that a HUGE job opportunity would come down the pipes for deal old Hubby when I was 3 months pregnant.

Image

Uh-oh!

When all the chips fell, we ended up moving to central rural New Hampshire when I had only a month left to go! I had to pack and clean an apartment in Boston, find a new place in New Hampshire, find a new Midwife practice, figure out where the grocery store was located, unpack a new house, and make it “live-in ready” before my son came into this world a kickin’ and a cryin’.

Image

(why, yes, we are the most awkward photo takers, why do you ask?)

YIKES!

Oh, and we found out two days before we left that the baby was still breech (eek!).

Image

(This is what 9 months preggo REALLY looks like)

Now, the 9th month of pregnancy is the month where all new soon-to-be-mothers are supposed to be in coast mode. Keep your feet up, take some naps, wash little baby socks, watch some bad TV. Not move to another state. A little stressful, maybe?

That’s a COMPLETE UNDERSTATEMENT!

Luckily, my son decided to make an appearance 2 weeks late :-).

Image

(totally worth every minute of the 36 hours in labor)

By the time he arrived, every box was unpacked, every floorboard was dusted, a new midwife practice was located, and the fridge and pantry were stocked. AND, I had stocked the freezer with spaghetti, lasagna, gumbo, and crawfish etouffee.

Image

Image

This post was inspired by the novel  The Opposite of Maybe by Maddie Dawson. At the age of 44, Rosie finds herself suddenly single and pregnant. She tries to hide in her grandmother’s home, but meets two men that will change her life forever. Join From Left to Write on April 8 we discuss The Opposite of Maybe. As a member, I received a copy of the book for review purposes.

And I LOVED it!

12 thoughts on “Life is Messy, But Sooooooooo Worth It!

  1. Pingback: Book Club Discussion: The Opposite of Maybe - From Left to Write

  2. Wow–this is an amazing story! Come to think of it, I’ve moved in 2 of my 3 pregnancies–but never to a different state and never right at the very, very end! I’m with Kim…I bow down to you!

    • It was scary, but the worst part was finding out at my last midwife appointment, literally the day before we left, that the kiddo was still breech. Freaked me out!

  3. We moved when I was about 7 months in with twins, and not to another state, just a bit north in our neighborhood. And still I was overwhelmed and frustrated and unable to unpack, left to sit with my feet up as I watched my husband move between baseball on the telly and boxes in the hall. He did a great job and I unpacked all that I could when he was not around to scold me. What an experience, good for you for surviving so well!

  4. WOW! wow! I’m still in awe over all you accomplished during your 9th month of pregnancy! WOW!
    I was on complete bed rest and had all I WANTED to accomplish but man oh man you DID it! And moved. And unpacked. And packed. I just moved 2 months ago and still have boxes in the dining room and I’m no where near pregnant! You get the phenomenal woman of the year award my dear!

  5. Fantastic!! We did the same sort of thing with both of my boys– packing up in my last month and then when both of my boys were not a week old, we did our major moves/ unpacking. So when we got ready to move the third time, both of our parents were like, “Is there something you’re not telling us?!?” (:

Leave a Reply

