Just About 50% of All Marriages End in Divorce, EEK!

Image

This post was inspired by the novel The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger. Young lawyer Sophie unwillingly takes her first divorce case with an entertaining and volatile client in this novel told mostly through letters and legal missives.

Join From Left to Write on March 18 we discuss The Divorce Papers.

As a member, I received a copy of the book for review purposes.

I hung up the phone, in shock. I didn’t understand. My brain could not comprehend the information that has just been relayed via Graham Bell’s most noted invention.

I sat quietly down back at my desk, pushing my work aside. I felt like a zombie. I stared off into space, not concentrating on the school work I should be doing. As the reality of the information slowly seeped into my brain, it felt like ice cold water.

Suddenly, I felt like I was drowning.  I couldn’t breathe. I could feel the water from my brain working its way to my eyes, but now it felt white hot. I would not cry.

I. WOULD. NOT CRY.

Not in front of the others sitting at their desks.

I got up, and ran to the door. I ran down the hall, heading for the bathroom.

Almost there, ….., almost there, ….. do not cry yet, DO. NOT. CRY. YET!

The door is in sight. I try to make it inside before the white hot, acid filled, tears streak down my cheek, but I just can’t stop them as they gush forth. I slump against the wall, no more energy to move forward, no more will power to make it through the bathroom door. I slide to the floor and land in a heap on the ground as I sob uncontrollably.

A classmate rounds the corner, heading for the drinking fountain. He sees me and stops. He sees my tears. He notices my shuddering shoulders as my whole body quivers sitting defeated on the floor.

“Are you OK?” he asks.

“No.”

“Do you want to talk about it?”

“I just found out my parents are getting divorced.”

“Oh,” he says. “That sucks.”

I was 24 years old, but in that moment I felt 5 again. I was so hurt and angry and confused. It doesn’t matter how old you are when you parents decide to get divorced. It still hurts like your 5 years old.

6 thoughts on “Just About 50% of All Marriages End in Divorce, EEK!

  1. I always say that parents whose children are crushed by divorce did a great job. They protected you and created a family unit that you cherished. Thank you for being courageous enough to share your experience and I hope you’ve found some peace with the situation since.

    • That is a lovely thing to say. As a child of divorce after my parents had been married 50+ years it soothes my heart to read your words. Thank you. I was crushed, still am…and I’m 55.

  2. Pingback: Book Club Discussion: The Divorce Papers - From Left to Write

  3. I was 53 when my parents divorced after 50+ years of marriage. They were wonderful parents, they were wonderful with each other, it was true love and a love that should have lasted forever. I am still crushed and just writing these words makes my heart ache.

  4. My husband’s parents finally divorced when he was in his thirties (or maybe 40). I met them when they were married, and the marriage fell apart shortly after (I hope not because of me!). As I got to know them more, and heard stories of their life together from my husband, and other family members, it made me sad that they spent so many unhappy years together. In my own parent’s case, I also was very aware of how unsuited they were to each other. It think it’s amazing that some couples can manage to keep love alive for a lifetime – it’s a difficult thing to accomplish! So sorry that the divorce of your parents brought you so much pain.

Leave a Reply

