Finished Objects and a Pattern Review: Kitschy Coo Reversible Zippered Hoodies

When Katie over at Kadiddlehopper posted about making the Kitschy Coo reversible hoodie for her daughter I immediately knew this was the next project for me.

ImageJo-Ann’s was running a sale on no-pill fleece, so I popped on in with the kiddos to let them choose which fabric they wanted. My son is in love with the color orange and anything that has wheels, my daughter likes fun prints and cats, so I wasn’t surprised at their final choices (although it did take a while for them to choose).

Image

For the other side of the jacket and the cuffs I went with the same type of fabric Katie used for hers: 12 oz interlock knit from Chez Ami. This fabric, as well as the fleece from Jo-Ann’s, is fantastic! Both are warm, soft, and a dream to sew. I barely used any pins while constructing these jackets.

ImageWhile we are on the topic of construction, lemme say a few things about the pattern and directions. It is the reversible zippered hoodie from Kitschy Coo (from Lady Skater fame). It is a downloadable pdf that comes in two sizes: 18 months to 4T, and 5Y to 8Y. I bought the bigger of the two sizes and made a 5Y for my daughter and a 6Y for my son. I made them a little big as I wanted the kids to be able to wear them, hopefully, for two years. The pattern is 5 pieces: front of the jacket, back of the jacket, hood, sleeve, and pocket. It is such a simple pattern, but the directions is where the pattern really shines!

ImageKitschy Coo has put together a very descriptive photo tutorial on how to assemble the jackets. She leaves nothing out! She even has different colored markings on the photos to help you visualize where you are sewing. Foolproof, if you are paying attention, in my book. But, the order she tells you to construct the jacket (asking in the directions to “suspend disbelief” – sewfearless posted a progress shot of her jacket yesterday so you can get an idea of the magic) you end up with a lovely two layered jacket where all of the seams are sandwiched inside. Perfect for kiddos! And, if you put a reversible zipper in it then you get two hoodies for the “price” of one!

ImageReversible zippers are a little hard to come by, so  I once again turned to the internet source Katie used, Zipperstop. They only come in back and white (bummer), but you can get several lengths (14″ – 36″). Since reversible zippers are hard to find and usually come in longer lengths, Kitschy Coo shows you two ways to sew the zipper into the jacket – one way if you have the correct length and one if you have one too long – brilliant!!

ImageIf you are thinking about making a hoodie for your kiddos, don’t think about it, just buy this pattern. There is not a better one out there, I promise.

OK, onto more cute photos of my kiddos, I mean the reversible hoodies. 🙂

Image

Image

Happy Sewing!

10 thoughts on “Finished Objects and a Pattern Review: Kitschy Coo Reversible Zippered Hoodies

  1. And they walked hand-in-hand across the bridge…I just opened WordPress and guess who’s pictures popped up first in my reader?

    Your kiddos look quite pleased modeling their new hoodies, obviously reflecting their keen sense of style by the fabrics they chose! Waaay too cute. Miss those days.

  2. Pingback: It’s A Christmas Gift Post, Fa La La La Laaaaaaaaaa! | TheSeedsof3

Leave a Reply

