Fall For Cotton Vintage Sewing Challenge Complete!

So if you are following the #fallforcotton Flickr pool at all, you know my challenge dress and jacket have been complete for a little while now.

Image

If you are already lost (#fallforcotton??), click on the link above and it will take you to Rochelle’s Lucky Lucille website where she originally posted about the challenge she and Tasha from By Gum, By Golly dreamed up for our amusement and glee.

Image

For a brief review, Rochelle and Tasha set up some very easy guidelines to follow: sew a vintage or vintage inspired garment (1920s – 1970s) in any fabric that is 100% cotton and upload it to the Flickr pool by September 30th.

The main challenge for everyone is to use 100% cotton fabric, but I added a few other “firsts” for me to keep it really interesting:

1) Use a vintage pattern (this one is from 1958)

Image

2) Grade up a vintage pattern (I followed Brooke’s grading experiment protocol – mostly – more on that later)

3) Sew with a fabric *outside* my regular color palette (grey and pink) – also Brooke’s suggestion 🙂

Image

4) Completely line a dress (with no instructions, by the way) using cotton lawn (also a first).

Image

5) Make a lined jacket (there were instructions for this).

Image

If you are wondering, I bought cotton lawn to line the dress, but had so much left over I also used it to line the jacket instead of the modern pink and tree fabric in the photo above.

6) Make a waist stay a la Tasia from Sewaholic’s post. Also, if you are wondering, I got my seam binding from Sunni’s store A Fashionable Stitch. Lots of great colors at a great price.  I really like it too. The waist stay isn’t bulky, but really anchors the skirt, which is important with a full circle skirt.

7) Sew a side zipper in a dress. The instructions called for a lapped zipper, but I was already maxing out my sewjo with new skills, so I used an invisible zip to keep it easy (I’ve never done a lapped zipper).

Image

Still with me?

Are you ready to see me in the dress??

I will preface these photos by saying that my 5 year old son said I looked adorable in this dress. To be fair, it IS pretty cute. Too cute? Not sure, you tell me.

Ta Da!

Image

Front View with Jacket

Image

Back View with Jacket

The solid gray material I used for the jacket is a low grade quilting cotton that wrinkles, wrinkles, wrinkles! The higher quality fabric I originally purchased did not match the polka dot fabric at all, even though the Hawthorne Threads website said it did (boo!)

Image

Pink Lining in Jacket. Is it *too* precious, or just precious enough?

Image

Detail shot of collar (and the mosquito bite I scratched between photos). I originally planned to do the whole jacket in the solid gray and have the collar and cuffs underlined with the polka dots, but when it came time to attach them I realized that the polka dots *needed* to be showing. I top stitched both with the pink thread.

Image

The top stitching doesn’t look the greatest since the polka dot side was supposed to be the underside. Oh well.

Image

Front View without Jacket

The polka dot fabric is heavenly. It has a nice drape, a nice soft finish and did not wrinkle after washing on delicate cycle and drying on low (promptly removed), which means no ironing for me! WIN! It is from the Michale Miller Dumb Dots Collection and it comes in a lot of color variations if you are in the market for some lovely polka dot cotton fabric.

Image

Back View without Jacket

I think I got a pretty good fit, considering I was grading up a size 32 bust vintage pattern to my size 40 full bust. I will admit that for the front bodice and back bodice I had the original pattern, the enlarged photocopy, my Colette Hawthorn Bodice, and my bodice sloper all on top of each other while I decided where I wanted to draw the lines. It was kind of eeny, meeny, miney, moe, but that’s what muslins/toiles are for, right? There was also a lot of dart rotation going on (feeling pretty chuffed about my drafting skills, though)

(If you are curious, I made two muslins for the bodice and one for the jacket)

Image

No. I am NOT doing a jig in this pic.

Well, maybe I am, but what I am trying to show you in the lining and the hem of the skirt.

Image

I used my serger to make a 3 thread narrow hem on the lining and I did a blind hem on the skirt. WOW! I hadn’t done a blind hem since I learned to sew 15+ years ago and I had to learn all over again how to do it.

I think this pattern is super awesome! I may not make the jacket again, but I can see myself making the dress again.  I really like the bodice, but maybe I’ll trade out the full circle skirt for a half circle skirt. I really enjoy the cotton lawn lining.  I haven’t made that many cotton dresses and this is my first fully lined one, but it really steps up the quality of the garment in how it wears and feels.  I will certainly make more fully lined cotton dresses and will certainly use cotton lawn again (oh, the cotton lawn was from Denver Fabrics).

The Fall For Cotton Sewing Challenge isn’t over until September 30th, so there is still time to sew up a vintage/vintage inspired garment in 100% cotton fabric and play along. Word is there will be prizes awarded for some of those who upload to the Flickr group by the deadline.

Happy Sewing!

Pick a pattern that helps you recreate a garment from your favorite vintage decade: 1920′s through 70′s
-Pick any fabric that’s 100% cotton
-Start gathering supplies now, with a plan to start sewing on September 1st
-Have your finished garment photographed and uploaded to Flickr by the end of Monday September 30th
-One finished project = one chance to win some awesome prizes at the end of the sewalong! – See more at: http://luckylucille.com/2013/08/fall-for-cotton-a-vintage-sew-along-for-cotton-lovers/#sthash.FIrOZ1Lo.dpuf
Pick a pattern that helps you recreate a garment from your favorite vintage decade: 1920′s through 70′s
-Pick any fabric that’s 100% cotton
-Start gathering supplies now, with a plan to start sewing on September 1st
-Have your finished garment photographed and uploaded to Flickr by the end of Monday September 30th
-One finished project = one chance to win some awesome prizes at the end of the sewalong! – See more at: http://luckylucille.com/2013/08/fall-for-cotton-a-vintage-sew-along-for-cotton-lovers/#sthash.FIrOZ1Lo.dpuf
21 thoughts on “Fall For Cotton Vintage Sewing Challenge Complete!

  1. Oh, it looks so great on you! I absolutely love the dress, and the jacket is a sweet way to wear it into the Fall. I think the jacket would be cute with pants too! You’ve made yourself some pieces you can wear a lot of ways. The pink lining makes me smile – it’s just happy!

    Too adorable? No way. And sometimes adorable is just the thing. =)

  2. Your #FallForCotton dress turned out amazing! I love the polka dots and I love the pink and grey. And all those firsts! Congrats! I do not think it is too adorable. I think it is JUST sweet enough! Well done! ~Laurie

  3. Pingback: Finished Objects: Cake Patterns Red Velvet Mini Clutch | TheSeedsof3

  4. Pingback: Totally Slacking | TheSeedsof3

  5. This is just beautiful on you. You got the fit spot on and I love the little details like the buttons on the jacket and the cuffs. Fabric looks lovely too…I am such a fan of polka dots.

  6. love polka dots & really like how you did the pink lineing, this just looks like a fun dress to put together, I’m still working on mine, gotta get bisy!
    Helen

  7. Pingback: Tips For Making a 1920s One Hour Dress | onlinebusinesslounge

  8. Pingback: Top 5 of 2013, Part II: Inspirations and Goals | TheSeedsof3

Leave a Reply

