Skirting the Issue 2013 and a Honduras Mission Trip

Did I ever tell you about my big sis?

Image

No?

Well, she’s a saint.  At least I think of her that way. For many years she, her husband, and her daughter go 1-2 times a year with their church group to the poverty stricken town of Reynosa, Mexico to build homes (my brother in law is a contractor), teach them about hygiene, and to impress upon them the importance of education for their children. Sh even started a sponsored nutrition program to help feed the children so they can focus on their school work and not their rumbling tummies.

Image

But, this post is not about Reynosa or The Least of These Nutrition Program (but I will blog about this very soon). This post is about her upcoming trip to Roatan, Honduras.

Image

My niece and my sister will be traveling to Honduras in a few short weeks to minister to and to teach English at the Greenfield Children’s Home. They both received their ESL (English as a Second Language) certificates a few months ago. The children there speak some English, but they can’t read or write English. According to my big sis, those who are fluent in English are at a tremendous advantage.

While I admire my sis and niece immensely I cannot go on mission trips with them. I always want to help out somehow, but I always feel like I should be doing more.

Well, this time I feel like I may have stumbled upon something great!

Has everyone heard of Skirting the Issue from Simple Simon & Co,  Project Run and Play, and ProjectSewn yet?

It is a month long event where you are invited to sew along and make items to donate to charity. Last year the focus of the project was to sew and donate skirts to foster care girls for school. This year the sewer gets to pick the charity s/he wants to donate to and you can sew skirts, pillowcases, blankets, dolls, or bereavement gowns.

I decided  I wanted to participate this year and wanted to make skirts, but  I wasn’t sure where  I wanted to donate them. Then, while I was chatting with my sis about her upcoming trip  I had a light bulb moment.

AHA!! The Greenfield Children’s Home!!!

In retrospect, I am kinda ashamed that the thought didn’t occur to me earlier, but nevermind. I asked my sister if the skirts would be needed and if she was willing to bring them to Honduras and she, of course, said yes.

So, without further ado, here are the 14 skirts I made for the girls at the Greenfield Children’s Home in Roatan, Honduras:

Image

According to their website, there are 9 girls at the home, ranging in age from 4 to 12. They have requested skirt sizes 4, 7, 10 and 14, so I made some of each. I ended up with 6 size 4 skirts, 2 size 7 skirts, 4 size 10 skirts, and 2 size 14 skirts.

Image

Image

I used remnants of fabric and fabric I had bought for projects that I was no longer interested in sewing, so I ended up with 4 different fabrics to cut out the skirts. All I did was cut the 44″ fabric in varying lengths, sew the selvedges together, and put different lengths of elastic in the waistband – easy peasy.

I did want the skirts to be very durable. I want these skirts to last long enough for the girls to pass them down, so I took a few extra steps:

Image

A completely encased waistband with reinforced top stitching

Image

French side seams and a double turned under hem. I wanted no exposed raw edges that could fray.

Then, I wanted the skirts to be extra special, so I added fun pockets and a label tag made especially for this project. For the pockets I used three different shape I free handed:

Image

Here are two of them. The third was a circle from an animal cracker lid :-). For each pocket I cut out two pattern pieces and sewed them right sides together, leaving an inch or so unfinished. Then, I turned the pocket right side out, pressed, and sewed the gap closed. Once again – no raw edges to fray.

Image

I mixed and matched the fabrics and folded some of the pockets in different ways so each skirt is unique.

Image

I then ordered cute little iron on labels that say “made for you with love” in Spanish.

Image

I got them on etsy here. She has super fast turn around (1-2 days instead of 1-2 weeks) and a really cute variety of tags.

There were two skirts that I lengthened so I could make a few more of the larger sizes. All I did was add length to the bottom with some white Swiss dot fabric I had in my stash (yeah – stashbusting project!!)

Image

I am sending the finished skirts to my sister today!

I also decided that this is a fun, easy project that gives me something to do with remnant fabric that is too large to throw away, but not big enough to sew something for myself. I figure if I make a child’s skirt at the end of every finished project, then next time my sister goes on a mission trip she will have a stack of skirts to bring with her.

Now, I need to get a good mutlisize pattern for shorts so I can make something for the boys too.

Happy Sewing!

13 thoughts on “Skirting the Issue 2013 and a Honduras Mission Trip

    • I’ll admit I am a pretty selfish sewer. This is the first time I have made anything for anybody else, including my own kiddos. Full disclosure: I made 15 skirts and gave one to my daughter 🙂

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you made all of these skirts!!! How wonderful. And they are perfect…and you think like us….recently Elizabeth sent skirts off to the Congo and she did extra steps as well to make sure they would last! Thank you so very much for sewing along with us.
    -liZ

    • Glad I could be helpful in some way. The skirts will be on there way to Honduras in a few days. My sis is going to try to get some pics of the girls wearing them.

  2. Pingback: Every Woman Needs a Piece of Tiramisu | TheSeedsof3

  3. Pingback: Top 5 of 2013, Part II: Inspirations and Goals | TheSeedsof3

  4. Pingback: Bringing the Gospel and PAJAMA EATERS to Greenfield and the Garifuna | The Seeds of 3

Leave a Reply

